Fonic vs. Jaunty Jackalope

A few days ago I let my Jaunty Jackalope fight my Fonic mobile internet stick.

In the right corner:

Jaunty Jackalope, 9.04, a linux distribution claiming to handle many devices out of the box.

In the left corner:

A Huawei stick (Bus 001 Device 006: ID 12d1:1003 Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. E220 HSDPA Modem / E270 HSDPA/HSUPA Modem)

The stick plugs in, Jaunty counters with a wizard, ask for a PIN. DONE. I am online. The audience is impressed.

Thanks to everyone involved getting this kind of things work out-of-the-box.

(by the way: Do not forget to activate your Fonic account online)
Result: I win

And a test:

http://www.heise.de/mobil/USB-Adapter-fuers-schnelle-Internet-unterwegs–/artikel/120754

~ by thorstensick on May 21, 2009.

2 Responses to “Fonic vs. Jaunty Jackalope”

  1. Heehee I could almost hear the theme tune to Rocky in the background there! Well done Ubuntu, everyone wins!

    • Thanks for your feedback. I really appreciate it. I shifted the post around, re-wrote it several times and finally (early in the morning before getting any coffee at all) posted it.

Leave a Reply

 
